for my friends who are no longer here.

 

 

For my friends

who are no longer here

I write words that seem meaningless

touch skins that are not yours

the laughter in a bar I hear

belongs to other people

from grinning teeth of dreadful bores

I want to hit those in the face

who say let Nature take it ’s course

should I fill the hole in my heart

with memories photographs

or music you loved

what good will it do

you are not here to listen to it with me

the record lingers in my hands

but I haven’t a clue

how I wish that time kept you here

so we could swim and drink wine

and see the sunrise so clear

I ask why but there is no answer, my dear

it is unbearable to not have you around

my friends who are no longer here

love felt by a hole in my heart

distant

yet

so

profound

Plaats een reactie